Friday, July 1, 2011

Gretchen Anderson becomes department chairperson

Professor Gretchen Anderson is taking the reins as head of the department as Bill Feighery steps down after eight years.  She is the department's only biochemist and was instrumental in introducing the biochemistry major which typically graduates as many majors each year as the chemistry major (sometimes more!).

Anderson routinely has students researching in her laboratory, has won many teaching awards (from this campus and from the entire IU system), and plays an active role in faculty governance.  To see just how impressive Anderson is, click here for an explanation of why she received the 2005 Herman Lieber Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence, or click here to read a profile about her posted on the IU South Bend website.  The entire department welcomes her as chairperson and can expect much under her leadership.